Wednesday, January 5, 2011

The Writers Guild of America has announced its nominees for the best screenplay of the year.

best original screenplay-

Black Swan
The Fighter
The Kids are All Right
Please Give

best adapted screenplay-

127 Hours
I Love You Phillip Morris
The Social Network
The Town
True Grit

best documentary screenplay-

Enemies of the People
Freedom Riders
Inside Job
The Two Escobars
Who is Harry Nilsson (And Why is Everybody Talkin' About Him) ?

Many movies were declared ineligible for a nod, either because the movie was animated, or the writer(s) is not a member of the Guild. These movies included
Toy Story 3, Another Year, Biutiful, Blue Valentine, The Ghost Writer, The King's Speech, Love & Other Drugs, Made in Dagenham, Never Let Me Go, The Way Back and Winter's Bone.

Eligible films that were passed over include
Rabbit Hole, Fair Game, Get Low, Greenberg, Hereafter, Somewhere, You Will Meet a Tall Dark Stranger and Shutter Island.

An omission here, though, does not mean they will not go on to receive an Oscar nomination. Last year
An Education, Inglourious Basterds and Up were all deemed ineligible by the WGA for its guild honors, but these three got nominated for a screenplay Oscar.

The awards will be presented on February 5.

No comments: